Sailing Hall of Fame 2014 inductees

3 Inductees

The National Sailing Hall of Fame (NSHOF) announced the eight prominent sailors who will make up its 2014 class of inductees: Yachtsman, historian and senior statesman of the sport, Henry H. “Harry” Anderson, Jr. (Newport, R.I./Mystic, Conn.); mathematician and navigator Nathaniel Bowditch (Salem, Mass.); boat builder and U.S. Olympic Sailing Team boatwright Carl Eichenlaub (San Diego, Calif.); brothers Olaf Harken and Peter Harken (both Pewaukee, Wis.), respectively, boat builder and sailing hardware designer; naval architect and prolific writer L. Francis Herreshoff (Bristol, R.I./Marblehead, Mass.); 1960 5.5 Metre Olympic Gold Medalist and boat builder George O’Day (Brookline, Mass./Dover, Mass.); and Grand Prix yachtsman John B. “Jim” Kilroy (Marina del Rey, Calif.), the recipient of the NSHOF’s first Lifetime Achievement Award.

The 2014 class of inductees will be formally celebrated on Sunday, Sept. 28, 2014. The invitation-only Induction Ceremony will be held at the Detroit Yacht Club (Detroit, Mich.) and is sponsored by Rolex Watch U.S.A. and Condé Nast.

For more information on the NSHOF and the inductees, visit:

By Ocean Navigator