2013 Ocean Cruising Club Awards

The Ocean Cruising Club announced on Jan. 10, recipients of the 2013 OCC awards and the new OCC Seamanship Award.

Jean Socrates

Laura Dekker

Herb Hilgenberg

The club’s Barton Award was given to Jeanne Socrates. Socrates, 70, was the oldest woman to complete a solo, non-stop, circumnavigation.

Other awards included the OCC Award of Merit, presented to Canadian weather advisor and vessel router Herb Hilgenberg and to Laura Dekker, the youngest circumnavigator.

By Ocean Navigator