Pacific Cup final results


The 2016 Pacific Cup had a spectacular finish with high winds leading to both broken boats and broken records.

With an elapsed time of 5 days, 2 hours, 41 minutes, and 13 seconds, Manouch Moshayedi’s super maxi Rio100 set a new Pacific Cup Fastest Passage record. The boat crossed the line in Kaneoho, Hawaii almost three hours faster than the previous record, which was set in 2004 by Robert Miller and his 139-foot Mari Cha IV.

The overall winner of the Pacific Cup was the Moore 24 Mas!, sailed by Mark English and Ian Rogers. It was a successful race for the double handers, taking honors in overall PHRF and winning the Kolea Division (Double Handed 1). The pair also managed to break the 18-year-old Moore 24 Pac Cup record of 11 days, 9 hours, 48 minutes, and 25 seconds.

Rhys Balmer and Martin Gibson sailed to second place in the Kolea division, also on a Moore 24, named Evermoore. In addition to coming in fifth both in overall PHRF and the Pacific Cup, Balmer and Gibson also won the Best First Passage trophy, given to the rookie yacht determined to have the best passage by the Race Committee.

The MORC30 Wolfpack came in second overall in the Pacific Cup and PHRF, and first in the North Sails Division (Double Handed 2). Skippers Melinda and Bill Erkelens also received the Latitude 38 Performance Trophy, which is given to the yacht with the most convincing win relative to its own division. The award for Best Prepared Yacht, which is granted by the chief inspector with input from all inspectors, went to another boat in the North Sails Division, the Schumacher 28 Spadefoot, skippered by Christina and Justin Wolfe.

Walter Smith’s Cal 40, Redhead, took first in the Honu Division (PHRF A), along with a third place finish in overall PHRF and the Pacific Cup. The much sought after Henri Lloyd Navigator’s trophy was awarded to Redhead’s navigator Rowan Fennell for being judged the most skillful in navigation and routing. The award is given to a navigator of a division-winning yacht and the winner of the trophy is determined by a panel made up of all division-winning navigators.

The Weems & Plath Division (PHRF B) was won by the J/42 Tiki J while Wayne Koide’s Encore took second, and Bill Williams’ Viajante came in third for the division. Tiki J also received the Best Family Award, which is awarded to the best performing yacht crewed by family members. On board was skipper Scott Dickinson and his wife Kim Worsham, along with her brother Brad Worsham and Scott and Kim’s two sons Max, 12, and Cody, 9.

First place in the Alaska Airlines Division (PHRF C) was taken by Shawn Ivie’s Express 37 Limitless in a close race with the Farr 36 Sweet Okole, which placed second in the division. Limitless came in fourth in overall in both PHRF and the Pacific Cup, as well as winning the Carl Schumacher Trophy for best performance by a Schumacher-designed boat.

J World’s Hula Girl set a new Santa Cruz 50 Pac Cup record with its win of the Pasha Hawaii Division (ORR D) and was awarded the first Bill Lee “Wizard” perpetual trophy for best performance by a Bill Lee-designed boat. Oaxaca and Adrenalin came in second and third for the Pasha Hawaii Division and third and fourth in ORR.

The BMW of San Rafael Division (ORR E) was won by Roy P. Disney’s Andrews 70 Pyewacket, which also took first in the overall ORR group. Second and third place in the division were won by Edward Marez’s Santa Cruz 70 Buono Sera and Hector Velarde’s Andrews 70 Runaway.

The trio of Mas!, Rufless, and Wolfpack from Richmond Yacht Club was awarded the team trophy for the best performance by a three-boat team from a single yacht club. 

By Ocean Navigator