Opera House Cup

8 Ohc

The 43rd Opera House Cup Race was sailed on Aug. 16,  2015. The 20.3-nm course off Nantucket Island was sailed in 10- to 15-knot southwest winds with 51 boats competing. 

The awards were as follows: Overall OHC Winner — Foggy, Richard Cohen; Panerai Best Performance Winner — Bapple, Bruce Failing; First to Finish — Foggy, Richard Cohen; Gwen Gaillard Spirit of the Race Award — Ticonderoga, Scott Frantz; Robert H. Tiedemann Award for Best Maintained or Restored Yacht — When and If, Seth Salzmann; Special Race Management Award — John Beale, for finding the typo on the course chart for the bearings of the Z-mark and preventing competitors from having to sail up on the beach. The Performance Awards went to Wachiwi, Barney Walker; The Blue Peter, Mathew Barker; and Rugosa, Halsey Herreshoff.

The Opera House Cup Regatta is the first all-wooden, monohull classic boat regatta on the East Coast, and attracts some of the finest sailboats in the world. Its title sponsor is the luxury Italian timepiece manufacturer, Panerai.  

By Ocean Navigator