Numbers up for Marion Bermuda Race

The 2015 Marion Bermuda Race starts on June 19, 2015 in Marion, Mass. Currently 51 yachts are entered in the race. Since its inception in 1977, the Marion-Bermuda Race has been a Corinthian event, and yachts are accepted by invitation. All yachts are participating for the fun of sailing and competition.

The race is open to all cruising boats over 32 feet LOA and the course is 645 nm. There are three divisions: Founders Division, yachts 32 to 80 feet with cruising sails; Big Yacht Division for yachts 65 to 100 feet with a full sail inventory; and Classic Yacht Division, training vessels and classics. 

There is also a celestial navigation division and navigator’s trophy for racers navigating by celestial until they are within 50 miles of Bermuda. The celestial division has 15 boats. 

The race is supported by the Beverly Yacht Club, Marion, Mass.; the Royal Hamilton Amateur Dinghy Club, Pagert, Bermuda; and the Blue Water Sailing Club, Boston. More info at:

By Ocean Navigator