National Sailing Hall of Fame inducts new members


In November 2019, the National Sailing Hall of Fame (NSHOF) inducted its ninth class of 10 movers and shakers in the sport of sailing. The ceremonies took place at the 126-year-old Seattle Yacht Club on Portage Bay. Of the 10 inductees, eight were posthumous, including 19th-century clipper ship designer and builder Donald McKay.

Inducted to the National Sailing Hall of Fame as members of the Class of 2019:

Capt. John Bonds of Annapolis, Md./Charleston, S.C. (posthumous) — a passionate sailor whose leadership in establishing safety protocols has had a global impact on offshore sailing.

Thomas F. Day of Somerset, England/New York, N.Y. (posthumous) — founded the Newport Bermuda Race in 1906.

Robbie Doyle of Marblehead, Mass. — sailmaker and founder of Doyle Sails.

Buddy Friedrichs of New Orleans, La. (posthumous) — Olympic gold medalist.

Allison Jolly of St. Petersburg, Fla. — the sport’s first-ever female skipper to win an Olympic gold medal.

Donald McKay of Jordan Falls, Nova Scotia/East Boston, Mass. (posthumous) — clipper ship designer and builder.

Everett A. Pearson of Warren, R.I./Estero, Fla. (posthumous) — the grandfather of fiberglass sailboat production.

Doug Peterson of San Diego, Calif. (posthumous) — pioneering yacht designer.

Herbert Lawrence Stone of Charleston, S.C./New York, N.Y. (posthumous) — editor and publisher of Yachting Magazine.

Arthur Knapp Jr. of Larchmont, N.Y. (posthumous) — author and world-champion sailor. Knapp was also awarded the NSHOF Lifetime Achievement Award.

For more on the inductees and the stories of their contributions to the world of sailing, visit

By Ocean Navigator